• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

The start of the fish room remodel.

Pat Kelly

CCA Member
Staff member
Okay,
I have been talking about this for a couple years.. Okay many years but now
I hope to start my fishroom remodel after I get back from the ACA convention next month.

So, this should be the first group of posts in a loooonnnnggggg line of posts on this subject.

I have done some research and think I have some of the items needed picked out and a plan in my head.

The basic layout will not change. Most of the tank sizes will not change. I wish they could but I am limited by space and
will be even more limited when I move the tanks further from the walls to put the bulk head and pipes in.

Plus I have started listing reasons that I should do this so that I can talk myself and the wife into it. LOL

Last edited:

Pat Kelly

CCA Member
Staff member
Reason 1 for doing it....
The fishroom is about 23 years old. I built it before any club was in Maryland and there was no internet.
I could have done better. LOL

Reason 2 for doing it....
The wood stand on the right side of the room is bowing. The center vertical support is rotting off in the back from 23 years of moisture on the bottom of it.

Reason 3 for doing it...
I spend many hours doing water changes and the remodel may fix that if I do it right.

Reason 4 for doing it...
The fish would be in better health if I can do automatic water changes more often rather than the massive water change every 2
weeks that I do not.

Reason 5 for doing it...
"But everyone else is doing it" LOL

Last edited:

Pat Kelly

CCA Member
Staff member
Reason 1 for not doing it...
Time and effort. It will take me a long time to move everything into a temp home so that I can disassemble the room down to the studs.

Reason 2 for not doing it...