• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Sump suggestions needed

TMSB805

Members
Looking for suggestions/inputs on building a sump for a 220(not drilled). I've never used a sump before, I've been a canister guy every since I've been in the hobby. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Andrew

Members
Why do a sump? If your tank is not drilled it's a major pain... Couple FX5s will do nicely.

Cue Matt for his dump filter suggestion 5. 4. 3. 2....

jonclark96

Past CCA President
Zach, I'll echo Andrew's advice on this one. I thought about doing a sump on my 180, but it too is not drilled and the thought of dumping gallons and gallons of water on the floor when the overflow failed was something I wasn't okay with. FX5's aren't as expensive as they once were.

Tony

Alligator Snapping Turtle/Past Pres
+1 to these guys suggestions.

Had a non-drilled saltwater tank with a sump about 10 years ago. Despite how careful I was, I would regularly overflow the tank. Never ever ever ever again will I do that.

TMSB805

Members
Thanks for the suggestions. I'm really looking at a cost comparison at this point. Not a big fan of the FX5 unless i can get it for dirt cheap. If i go with a canister it'll have to be a 2260 or 2262 and that's about $400 new. I really not ready to spend that kind of money again on another filter.

The 220 will be set up in my garage. Although flooding of the sump or overflow is never a good thing, i wont be that bad of a cleanup in the garage. Isn't there a way to setup your sump so that in case of loss of power they wont flood?

dogofwar

CCA Members
If it's in your garage, I'd go dump filter all the way.

I've been contemplating replacing the FX5 running the dump on my 180g SA community with the pump I got from you last meeting. And adding another 18g Rubbermaid dump module :)