• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Question on Water Changes

Tankster

Members
How do you do it? I have 300 gallons total volume and have been draining and refilling the 75 gallon sump. I really want to cut down on the frequency and increase the volume to 75% to 80% weekly. My challenge is I don't have a holding tank that large to warm the water for a change that large. I know when I had discus a temperature fluctuation of that magnitude would most likely kill them and at the very least shock and stress them leaving open to easily becoming sick and then dying. I am new to the Peacock world so don't know if that holds true here as well.
I have considered a python but refilling would take over an hour from a faucet. I had a hose bib installed right next to my tank which refills it in 10 to 15 minutes but with COLD water.

Any suggestions?

Becca

Members
How do you do it? I have 300 gallons total volume and have been draining and refilling the 75 gallon sump. I really want to cut down on the frequency and increase the volume to 75% to 80% weekly. My challenge is I don't have a holding tank that large to warm the water for a change that large. I know when I had discus a temperature fluctuation of that magnitude would most likely kill them and at the very least shock and stress them leaving open to easily becoming sick and then dying. I am new to the Peacock world so don't know if that holds true here as well.
I have considered a python but refilling would take over an hour from a faucet. I had a hose bib installed right next to my tank which refills it in 10 to 15 minutes but with COLD water.

Any suggestions?

Use a utility sink. You could try an inline heater on the hose, but I'm not sure if it would warm cold water very fast. mscichlid mscichlid is selling a big holding tank.

jonclark96

Past CCA President