• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

How do I plumb this thing?

Diogenes

Members
I guess I should preface this by saying that I am not a handy guy. I'm a nurse on a neuro rehab unit, and while I know all kinds of stuff about brain surgery, I don't know anything about drain surgery if you get my meaning. To me a bulkhead is the incredible headache I get trying to figure out how these pipes go together.

I am begging please someone walk me very slowly and patiently through this process.

The tank is drilled with two holes. I have three pipes. 2 appear to me as drains one appears to be a return. I have two bulkhead fittings not sure about the size. I have an amiracle sump, it's 14x24. It looks like it is missing a drip tray. The section above the bio balls where the drip tray goes is 14wx12Lx1 3/4deep. There is a little shelf there that I assume is to hold the tray. I need suggestions on what to use as a drip tray. I am going to be using a mag 9.5 return pump. I think I am going to order a filter sock to strain out sand. This will be a freshwater tank.

I know there's somebody out there willing to help. I would be forever in your debt.

Here are the pics:

photo7.jpg

photo6.jpg

photo5.jpg

photo4.jpg

photo3-1.jpg

photo2.jpg

photo1.jpg

This is going to be hard to explain in a forum thread but I can help a bit.

1. The bulkheads go down through the bottom of the overflow box. The gasket goes on the inside and the nut is on the outside. You will want to tighten them with a large wrench (or you may find a strange looking tool that looks like an X that is designed specifically for tightening bulkhead nuts). The large one is the drain and the small one is the return.

2. Connect the drain hose (1.25" corrugated hose with a nozzle on the end) to the drain bulkhead.