• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

From AC to BioWheel

I've never used a biowheel before. The Marineland kit came with one. It has two "slots." One is for the filter cartridge. In the other, I can use another cartridge or can I move loose media currently in the AC?

mrkillie

Members
Is AC referring to AquaClear? The Marineland filter should have come with a plastic refillable cartridge that you can use for any other loose medium you like - ammo chips, more carbon, etc. You can use either the regular cartride or both the regular cartridge and the plastic one with your other medium.

Yes, I"m refering to an Aqua Clear, in which I currently have a small amount of loose media (the little round ceramic thingees).

The biowheel Penguin 150, I think, came with one cartridge that you slip into a slot. It is not reusable and is supposed to be replaced every 2 to four weeks,apparently. The filter has a second slot into which you can put another of these cartridges (it only came prepped with one) or, I think, you can throw loose media into the area instead. I wanted to preserve the bio culture existing on that media.

Not sure why you converted from the AC, but each is own. I have ran both and find the aquaclear less work and cheaper. You mentioned this by saying the inserts have to be replaced.

After spending the money on changing the inserts, I finally bought the gray inserts offline that open up and you can put your own material in there. I think they are $8 a piece, but after not buying the inserts you get your money back.

Good luck with the new filter and check into the inserts to make it not cost so much.

Plenipotentiary-at-large
I never replace the cartridges until the floss disintegrates...