• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Custom 3D-BACKGROUNDS

Italy592

Members
HI I have currently a 75 gallon african Cichlid tank its been up and running for a year now. But i have been owning tanks for about 5 years now but i need your help. I have been moving toward a 3d-Background more and more as the years go by and now im finally ready too !! I am going to make my own its already drawn up how i want it to look and also how how the blocks of Styrofoam i will need to put together and where. MY questions are 1st can i put a 3d-Background in a Established tank ?? Like is it safe or will anything happen that could harm the fish. 2nd Do you have any tips or tricks or even advice for me when making your own ??? Ive read you need weight on it so it stays down certain kind of paint and even sometimes cement cover or something?? Please i really want to do this right and need your help if any advice , tips, or tricks you can help me with it would be greatly appreciated !!! once i start making it Pictures will come and keep everyone updated !! PLease help!!

Sent from my iPad using MonsterAquariaNetwork app

verbal

CCA Members
I don't have any direct experience, but cichlid-forum has tons of build threads if you haven't checked it out yet.

If you aren't 100% that you want to go the DIY route, yourfishstuff.com(CCA sponsor) has some great options.

thedavidzoo

Members
There is a TON of info and examples on Youtube and the web regarding styrofoam and concrete. I started going that route, but it seemed a lot of trouble. With the bought 3D backgrounds, you can't really add it to an established tank if you plan on siliconing along all the edges, obviously.