• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Advice Needed

kaj41354

Members
Hi folks,

I started the new year with some new used tanks. I got 2 - 50Gal (36x18x18), 1 that I thought I would turn into a display tank in the living room (already got Susie's approval). Since I am new to the African Cichlid world, I wanted to see if I could get some ideas from everyone here at CCA. I did check the Cichlid-Forum and found this one that I thought would be nice. It is for a 55 which actually has less surface area than mine. had a ? though and those are in red.

• Cyprichromis leptosoma - 12 (non-jumbos)
• Altolamprologus calvus or compressiceps <---How many??
• Neolamprologus buescheri - 12
• Shell dweller pair of choice - <<--Would it be ok to have more than 1 pair?
'Lamprologus' (Shellies) brevis,
multifasciatus (group), melegaris,
ornatipinnis, ocellatus, speciosus,
similis (group), Neolamprologus signatus

I probably wont due this until late spring since I have to build a cabinet but I would like to plan ahead.

Thanks all

Charlutz

Members
The altos you can keep in a small group, although large males can be rough on other males. It takes them a few years to grow to that size, so 4-6 would be ok for a bit until they grew. You have a typo or a mistake with the buescheri. A group of 6 juveniles that you would thin down to a pair once they became sexually mature is IMO a better way to try. You may run out of real estate to do more than one pair of shellies once the altos and buescheri claim a territory.

Hi folks,