• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Clearance between aquarium and sump below it

IndianaSam

CCA Members
A little background: I have 6' 135g "reef ready" tank for which I'm going to set up a sump. To keep it simple, I'm going to go with 4 - 3" poret sheets (10ppi -> 20ppi -> 20ppi -> 30ppi -> pump). This is my first time doing such a thing so I'm doing as much homework as I can on the subject.

My original plan was to have a 55g gallon tank underneath for the sump. I took a little time to measure the cabinet yesterday and it seems that it will fit, but that there won't be much clearance between the bottom of the 135g and the top of the sump. Maybe 6" or so.

As an alternative, I was thinking of special ordering a 33g or 40g long aquarium. Same footprint as the 55g, but obviously shorter. I'm thinking that having the extra clearance will make maintenance a lot easier. The downsides of the 33g or 40g long being that they're more expensive and that they hold less water volume than the 55g.

Does anyone have any thoughts on the subject of clearance between the tank and sump? Using a sump is attractive to me because it expands my aquarium knowledge/experience and because of simpler maintenance. Frankly, I don't want the maintenance to be a huge hassle because of a lack of clearance.

Sam

Becca

Members
A little background: I have 6' 135g "reef ready" tank for which I'm going to set up a sump. To keep it simple, I'm going to go with 4 - 3" poret sheets (10ppi -> 20ppi -> 20ppi -> 30ppi -> pump). This is my first time doing such a thing so I'm doing as much homework as I can on the subject.