• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

June Meeting

Leffler817

CCA Members
Saturday, June 9, 2018 the Capital Cichlid Association hosts:

Scott Fellman of Tannin Aquatics.

John F. Kennedy High School
1901 Randolph Road
Silver Spring, MD 20902

Doors open at 1 PM; meeting starts at 2 PM

Scott.Fellman.jpeg

Leffler817

CCA Members
Driven by Life.

Fueled by Passion.

Inspired by Nature.

Tannin Aquatics is just a bit different than what you're used to in the freshwater tropical fish trade, and we think that you'll appreciate that.

My name is Scott Fellman, the owner of Tannin Aquatics. I'm a lifelong tropical fish hobbyist, and I suppose that I'm probably best known in the aquarium world as a reef aquarium author, lecturer, and aquatic industry entrepreneur. Prior to launching Tannin, I was co-owner of a popular marine livestock vendor, Unique Corals. Of course, my eternal love is freshwater, and I can't ever seem to stray from it.

Tannin's story really began with my lifelong love for all things aquatic, and a vision to provide freshwater tropical fishes with the most natural captive environments possible. Environments with a certain look. A certain feel. A certain vibe. Earthy. Organic. Natural.

The name “Tannin” was selected because it’s the substance derived from leaves and wood that tints the life-giving waters of tropical rivers and streams with a beautiful brown color that I find so alluring. The dark waters, tangled roots and earthy-colored leaves found off the shores of tropical “blackwater” rivers, ponds, and streams provide an irresistible subject for hobbyists to replicate in our aquariums.

Our tagline, "Leaves, Wood, Water, Life" perfectly summarizes our aesthetic, our offerings, our point of view- and our mission.