• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

YOUR WATER PUMP KNOWLEDGE

UNCLERUCKUS

"THE ALL POWERFUL Q !!
IM IN THE MIDST OF REPLACING A MAG 12 FOR MY WET DRY. IN MY SEARCH I HAVE COME ACROSS MAG 12 POND FILTERS WHICH ARE THE SAME JUST BUT HAVE LONGER POWER CORDS AND ABOUT 25.00 CHEAPER(GO FIGURE). IVE ALSO COME ACROSS SOME POND FILTERS FOR 2000GPH @ LOWES AND HOME DEPOT MUCH FOR ABOUT 110.00. I HAVE NO EXPERIENCE WITH THIS SO I THOUGHT ID GET A GENERAL IDEA FROM THE CCA TECHNICAL GURUS.WHAT DO YOU THINK?

verbal

CCA Members
I think in general Pond pumps are not as quiet as those designed for aquariums. However it may just be a case of repackaging(and pricing) with the Mag 12.

Tony

Alligator Snapping Turtle/Past Pres
I always thought that they were the same thing, but can't guarantee it.

I'm a big fan of Magdrive pumps. Have used them on returns for a couple of setups.

Be careful on oversizing the pump too much. Upgraded from a Mag 9 up to a Mag 12 (or maybe 12 to 15... can't remember) on my 180 reef-ready and actually have to dial it back a bit because the return pipes are not large enough diameter to handle the flow. I'd say check the specs on your return pipes to make sure they can handle the increase.... otherwise you're just wasting electricity.

UNCLERUCKUS

"THE ALL POWERFUL Q !!
I always thought that they were the same thing, but can't guarantee it.

I'm a big fan of Magdrive pumps. Have used them on returns for a couple of setups.