• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Sunshine Peacock Holding

I got the awesome opportunity to watch my OB and Sunshine spawn today. They went at it for about 15 minutes. I counted over 25 eggs. I would say I'd donate some to the club, but I need to first get one successful fry count.

Day one done, 29 more to go.

:p

I'm guessing you may have a problem getting rid of mixed breeds. I'll bet they are going to be kinda interesting to see though.

Mixed breeds as in Peacock?? I'm new at most fish stuff (only about a year), so I always thought that a peacock was a peacock....I thought they were just called different names due to their coloration???

I know I'm going to get torn up for that last comment.....be nice lol

maddog10

Members
We won't rip you apart.

Think of "Peacock" as a general group name.

There are probably over 100 different species that would fall into that group. Most folks would advise not cross breeding the different species.

Pat Kelly

CCA Member
Staff member

Na, we won't rip you. That's why we are here and why we bring speakers in for meetings. So we can learn and enjoy our hobby.
When it comes to mixed breeds or Hybrids.....you will find that Cichlid clubs usually follow the directives of the American Cichlid Association and frown on mixing the genes. Hybrids are not allowed in auctions and shows or to be sold on the ACA forum. The reason is mostly for the preservation of the species. A lot of the natural habitat that these fish come from is disappearing and so will the fish. We try to keep our fish as pure as we can with the limited gene pool. Some times hybrids happen in nature but not as often as in the aquarium.
We will not blast you for keep them. The biggest thing is to make sure people know they are not getting a pure bred when you pass some of the fry on.