• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

lighting information wanted

UNCLERUCKUS

"THE ALL POWERFUL Q !!
im basically new at this, 3yrs and this is probably a noob question, but whats the grading on the lights such as T4, T5? i understand the difference in light needed for plants or saltwater for corals. however i see alot of different styles of lighting in our hobby. what type of lighting works best with african cichlids? sa/ca? thanks in advance for any and all explanations.;)

Regular T-8's in 6700k-10000k spectrum would be fine for fish only lighting. If you were keeping corals, clams or anemones in a saltwater tank I would go with metal halide 10k-20k lighting, preferrably 14k. If you keep freshwater plants I would do T-5's or PC lamps and depending on palnt species I would go with 2-4 watts per gallon.

cholile

Members
thanks for the question. i've been at this for a couple of years too and while i have a fairly decent understanding of african cichlids, tanks, sumps etc. the one area i just can't seem to ever get a grasp on is lighting.

My goal is to find the best lighting options for cichlids and less demanding plants (e.g. java fern, anubias, etc.).

Best = colors of all fish are shown as brilliantly as possible, but both the initial expense and the monthly energy bill are kept as low as possible.

DiscusnAfricans

Past President