• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Leighn's African Cichlids FS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Buya

CCA Members
For those of you who bought from Leighn in the past day or two, which includes myself, You should be on the watch for contagious parasites that cause sunken stomach and can infect your entire tank.

First off, I'll admit I'm relatively new to this hobby and recently just got a 150 gallon tank. Some of you may have seen my posts inquiring of Haps for sale. I responded to Leign's post and picked up a few fish. A few factual observations as I've been questioned by Leign on my credentials and expertise to be able to diagnose. I am not an expert and am relatively new to the hobby.

- Leign posted on 5/23 to sell off his entire cichlid fish in his 300 gallon tank
- There, I noticed several fish with fairly apparent small stomachs and being thin. We even talked about a few that looked in really bad shape. Didn't think a whole lot about it as he turned much of attention to his Venustus and VC-10 that looked badly beaten up fighting another, so I thought to myself, maybe just aggression.
- Leighn appeared to be a fairly advanced in the hobby with a 300 gallon full of fish, another saltwater tank, and a sump which he was talking about costing like $1,500
- I end up picking up 5 medium/large fish (Pheno, white knight (said he got from Reed), and three others I don't know the name) for $100 and placing them in my new tank. The Pheno stomach was very noticeable, but as I looked at the others more closely, it appeared at least two two others had less severe, but also small stomachs.
- Did some research online to see if this could be a more major issue other than just not eating because of aggression and found that a common issue is contagious parasites that cause sunken stomach