• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

How Hard is a Reef Tank Really?

kraiz

Members
How hard is a reef tnak? I'd really liek to start a nano reef, liek 25gallosn with a pair of clown fish and seem inverts and a bunch of coral. I've never done saltwater before. How hard and different is it from freshwater? I'd hate to spend so much on the fish and corals only to have them die. :confused:

Tony

Alligator Snapping Turtle/Past Pres
I have a 26 gallon setup for sale. Bowfront tank, canopy and stand, 10g sump, skimmer, return pump, overflow, all plumbing. Everything you need to get started.

kraiz

Members
I have a 26 gallon setup for sale. Bowfront tank, canopy and stand, 10g sump, skimmer, return pump, overflow, all plumbing. Everything you need to get started.

How would i transfer this? would you help me set it up for a small fee of sorts? How much is it?

DiscusnAfricans

Past President
Honestly, if you don't know, then the answer is 'its too hard.' Reefs are another world compared to freshwater, and nano reefs are even harder to maintain than larger systems. It can be done, but I found out that the time and cost it takes to maintain saltwater would be the equivalent of maintaining 4 medium freshwater tanks.

I'm not trying to shoot you down, just trying to help you see the end result. I USED to maintain 2 saltwater tanks and 3 freshwater tanks. I now maintanin 10+ freshwater tanks and spend less money, time and energy keeping them going. I know other people in the club in the same boat.

Starting saltwater means new types of food, chemicals, lights, buffers and other various items. Every time you run out of one thing it means another trip to the store or online order. Most of the supplies I have for my freshwater tanks can all be used on every tank.

Just my 2 cents, but an honest opinion.

kraiz

Members