• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Getting Back into Cichlids

Hello,

I've been keeping fish on an off since the 1960's and am getting back into the hobby after a few year' break. I've had a bit success with breeding cichlids, but nothing out of the ordinary and now prefer smaller cichlids such as jewels, kribinsis, etc. Over the years I've kept and bred angels, keyholes, rainbows, salvanis, convicts, sevrums, oscars, texas, firemouths, dempseys, several different acaras, a bunch of dwarfs, and wolf cichlids (p.dovii) that were meaner than junyard dogs --all for fun!

I'd like to find an attractive species and go from there, -- perhaps the Bolivian Ram (Microgeophagus altispinosa) or the Flag Cichlid(Laetacara curviceps). I'd welcome your suggestions and leads on sources on these and others.

Greg

Tony

Alligator Snapping Turtle/Past Pres
Welcome to the forum, Greg. Sounds like you've had some awesome stuff in the past. :)

mchambers

Former CCA member
Rams

Hello,

I've been keeping fish on an off since the 1960's and am getting back into the hobby after a few year' break. I've had a bit success with breeding cichlids, but nothing out of the ordinary and now prefer smaller cichlids such as jewels, kribinsis, etc. Over the years I've kept and bred angels, keyholes, rainbows, salvanis, convicts, sevrums, oscars, texas, firemouths, dempseys, several different acaras, a bunch of dwarfs, and wolf cichlids (p.dovii) that were meaner than junyard dogs --all for fun!

I'd like to find an attractive species and go from there, -- perhaps the Bolivian Ram (Microgeophagus altispinosa) or the Flag Cichlid(Laetacara curviceps). I'd welcome your suggestions and leads on sources on these and others.

Greg