• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Discus

Jigg's

Members
Hello everybody my name is jimmy. i recently went the ACA N got a lot of fish INCLUDING 8 DISCUS FOR JUVENILES IN 4 ADULTS MEDIUM SIZE. I PUT the bigger discus in my 30gallon tank n the juviez in a 20gallon. I messed up by separating them cause my adults made it well.3 did n all my juvies died. Im sad cause that'sto what i went to the convention to look for was Discus but it is my first time with this perticular fish. And the 3 medium size discus are doing great. So far. But if anyone could help me out on some tips or if u have alot of experience with this species of fish that would be great if you can show me some pointers or give me few tips that would be awesome. Thank u so much.

breeia

Members
Wow- that is a loaded question. Sorry for your loss. I am by no means an expert, but have kept discus for about 8 years. Mine do well with frequent water changes (daily if possible-cleanliness seems to be a priority for them) and high warm temps (I keep my tanks at around 84). Mine are also are fed a variety of foods 3 times daily. To generalize, discus tend to prefer soft water. If all your juvies died that quickly, I would get my water tested to make sure nothing funky is going on. Mine also tend to like space. I would maybe upgrade to a 55gal for the 4 "adults" (bigger if possible, more gallons=more discus :) ). I keep mine with just corydoras as tankmates. There is quite a bit of information out there available on discus, and guidance much better than my brief post. I can only speak to what I have done- again not an expert. Best of luck!

YSS

Members
General rule of thumb is at minimum 1 discus per 10 gallons of water. Go to simplydiscus.com and do a lot of reading. Discus is not an easy fish to keep if you don't know what you are doing. Good luck!