• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

New and Need help.

Klown

Members
Hey everyone, I'm new to the world of cichlid tanks. I've had other fish tanks but nothing to big. I now have a 55g tank with 7 cichlids (I want a lot more but needed a couple just to get started) and a pleco. They are all medium in size. I have (1) Albino Tiger, (1) Tiger, (1) Jack Dempsi, (1) Blood Parrot, (1) Red Devil, and (2) "Assorted" per what PetSmart calls them. They are all growing and doing well.

My problem is no matter what I do I can't seem to get the Ammonia level under control. The fish are doing great, but when I check the ammonia level its between 2.0-4.0 on my scale. I've been adding Ammo Lock and followed the directions, I've also done a 20% water change.

I'm using a QuiteFlo 55/75 right now, but later today I will be picking up a Fluval 405 or 406 which ever they have in stock. Is it just that my filtration is not good enough to handle these fish?

Please help with any advice on anything really but how to handle the Ammonia level is number 1 right now.

Your filtration isn't enough for such messy eaters. Also those fish won't work together in a 55 for life. It may work for awhile since they are juveniles I'm assuming. Did you properly cycle the tank before adding fish? I would start doing 50% water changes since ammonia that high will cause health issues for your fish. What are your plans for getting a bigger tank for all of them?

As far as filtration I'd pick up two aquaclear 110s and a rena cannister

Sent from my iPhone using MonsterAquariaNetwork app

Last edited:

Klown

Members