• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Sick Cardinals

Andrewtfw

Global Moderators
I just bought a bunch of cardinal tetras the other day. Last night, I noticed two dead and three with a pale coloration in the form of a vertical bar before the base of the tail. Those three are now dead. Has anyone had luck treating for this? Is this the "neon tetra disease, in which I've read there is no cure? Please advise if you have had experience with this.

Thanks.

Becca

Members
It sounds like it could be, thoughit usually takes longer to kill them.

Sent from my SCH-I435 using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

Localzoo

Board of Directors
Possibly bacterial infection mixed with stress. I'm new to keeping cardinals.
What's your ph, acidity, temp,
Also if you know your water conductivity (salts etc)

Sent from my iPhone using MonsterAquariaNetwork app

Andrewtfw

Global Moderators
I'm not new to cardinals. I lost a large group when my com tank emptied into the aquarium a while back. Water quality is not the cause. I have other cardinals and tetras in the tank. The tank gets a 50% change weekly. The co2 drop checker is reading a near neutral ph. I saw two cardinals presenting symptoms as I let them out of the bag. I should have quarantined them all... but I didn't.

Sent from my VS985 4G using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

Localzoo

Board of Directors
I'm not new to cardinals. I lost a large group when my com tank emptied into the aquarium a while back. Water quality is not the cause. I have other cardinals and tetras in the tank. The tank gets a 50% change weekly. The co2 drop checker is reading a near neutral ph. I saw two cardinals presenting symptoms as I let them out of the bag. I should have quarantined them all... but I didn't.

Def a good rule with cardinals or any new fish. Sorry to hear just keep an eye on the other fish