• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Newbie - 10 starter questions

boobaloos

Members
Hi all. I'm new to this - after watching a Mutant Planet episode on African cichlids with my 4-yr old daughter (who loves animals, like me) I went out and bought a 70G tank. We are psyched to start buying some African cichlids this weekend. I have some starter questions that you may be able to help me with:
1. How long should I wait after filling the tank? Is 3 days OK? I added the dechlorinator and the filter is running smoothly.
2. Do cichlids like the little bubble makers?
3. Do I need to boil any rocks or flower pots that I put in the tank?
4. Do you recommend putting sand in, or just pebbles and rocks? (for African cichlids)
5. What's a good number of cichlids to start with for a 70G tank? A friend of mine told me the fish die fairly regularly, which could be traumatic for my 4 year old. I'm fine slowly phasing them in until water stabilizes, if that's recommended and will reduce fatalities.
6. Can someone please translate the full species names into a shortlist of abbreviated names (eg, "multis" and "cyps"...ugh)! I've been trying to read some of these threads and am guessing at the short names, but would love to see the top dozen or so short names next to their full names.
7. Is it really a problem to put the heater right in the tank? I've read the fish go after it sometimes?
8. What are 2-3 safe, starter cichlids that are hearty enough to survive my first go at this? Is an Oscar really an awesome cichlid or is that just hype?
9. I read mixed things on whether or not it's OK to mix African and other regional cichlids? Is the safe bet to only get cichlids from one geography?
10. What's the old/new debate alluded to in some of these threads?

Help me master the art of the cichlid.

boobaloos

dogofwar

CCA Members