• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

New World or Old Word - That is the question

nikonf

Hello,
This is my first post and I am also new to this fascinating hobby.
I currently have 3 Mbuna cichlids and have already lost 1 because one of the fish is extremely aggressive. He killed a new tank mate in less than 6 hours. He goes after all the fish - even the larger one which is quite similar to him.
I have these fish in a 10 gallon tank and I am going to purchase a 55 gallon tank with a Fluval or Eheim canister filter capable of handling an 80-90 gallon tank.
Are these fish always this aggressive? Are the South American fish as vicious?
I also like the Green Terror, Fire-mouth and exotic cichlids from Uruguay (Although I have only seen photos of these on the web).
Would you stay with the Africans in the 55 gallon or try some SA cichlids?
Any help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks very much,
Mike

verbal

CCA Members
If you want to go with African cichlids, I would start with yellow labs. I have never owned them, but I have heard good things about them. They have the bright colors of mbuna, but are far less aggressive than most. They also breed fairly easily.

I have generally had the best experience with cichlids starting with a group of about 6 young fish and growing them out. Another way to start out is to get a breeding group of adults at a fish club auction.

fischfan13

Banned
Mbuna do well when over-crowded.

First and foremost, over-filtrating and water changes.

Having three fish in a 10 gallon is a bad experiment, and no matter what type of Cichlid you did this with you had a good chance of failure...or in your case death.
Pick out a few groups of Mbuna...maybe three or four.
Buy juveniles...better chance they will accept each other.