• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Need some opinions

TMSB805

Members
I have 4 lyonsi(1M 3F)in a 90 gallon at the moment and it appears my smallest female is ready to breed. Her tube virtually all the way down, she's in her breeding dress and she's keeps the larger females pinned in the corner. Her and the male go into the flower pot for a little bit and then he gives chase.

My question is should i leave the other females in to try and secure a bond between the male and female or should i remove them?

The male is 7" and the female is 4-4.5". Other females are 6"

I've been working on spawning lyonsi for the last 2 years so i'm really excited about what im seeing and don't want to mess this process up.

jonclark96

Past CCA President
Good to hear they are getting ready to do their thing. It is always satisfying when a group of fish you have been working with are successful in spawning. Hopefully Pete Glover can weigh in with his experiences with lyonsi, but I'm pretty sure he keeps his group in a 75 with more than just the spawning pair.

TMSB805

Members
The male i have i got from Pete. Funny thing is, the female i actually purchased as a male at aquamania. Two days before i moved i noticed he tube and dramatic change in color. The black in her dorsal became clear as day. I honestly thought she was too young to spawn but dont tell her that.

dogofwar

CCA Members
I'd take the extras out...or secure them behind a divider.

Other fish definitely work to keep the pair bond...

Matt

rsretep

Members