• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Help me identify species and give me advice on if i need to change things up.

JakeDoo

CCA Members
OK, here we go.

75gal with a Tidal 70 and a tidal 110, Sicce stream fan, 150w heater. Air bar. New England field stone ( Gneiss and some other similar type stuff ) and malaysian driftwood. Sand for substrate. Tap water is 7.4 in PH. Im not 100% cycled yet for the bioload, so i'm doing 50% daily water changes, and bacteria supplement. maintaining 0.25 ammonia prior to change, 5-10 nitrate. Everything is going well. I've been maintaining a 20g Glofish community and a 10g shrimp and leopard from pleco tank for 6 months, and i've learned my water pretty well. I'm new to the hobby otherwise.

I purchased 12 African Cichlids, a medium driftwood catfish, and large pleco from my LFS. They did not educate me in regards to sex and species / type of cichlids. I think i have a handful of peacocks because they did say that. I have a livingston, and i think a mbuna. I have no clue really!!

Please see the attached photos, and give me an idea of what i have. The one splotchy blue/purple/pink/red fish, chases every other fish around the tank, He's not beating anyone up, just chasing. everyone else seems cool except the blue / silver / red one seems to kinda be chased by every fish i the tank. The small blue one with the yellow top fin, hides by the filter. I'm assuming because he's small and sick of being chased around. He's not beating anyone up, just chasing. Is this aggression going to get worse? I intend on purchasing another 6-8 or so, to overstock the tank a little. ( i think 20 in a 75g is that number, right? )

Do i need to specifically purchase more females? more of a specific species?