• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Hello and questions about water Chemistry for Tangs

Nitwig

Members
Hi guys, Im from Massachusetts and found your website and decided to join the forums. After reading some threads, I can tell that you have a nice helpful community here. I have been keeping fish for around 16 years and recently have gotten back into it a lot. I have 3 Tanganyikan tanks and my fish seem to be doing well. I have only one fish that got sick when I fed him a dead Firemouth fry that was a bit fungusy (not a real word I don't think) I was new to raising fry and wasn't feeding them enough, that's why they were dying. (the rest are flourishing after I wised up) The fry were from a community tank in a Chinese restaurant that I maintain and I siphoned out about 60 of them because I knew the rest would die. Anyways one of my Julies ate the fungused fry and has gotten bloat. I even separated her and medicated with Clout and she seemed better, but now back in the main 180 gallon tank she is not really eating and she looks like a starved banana, she won't die for some reason though..... anyways enough of my rambling... my question is this: My PH is around 7.6 and I have crushed coral (old) in my 75, dolomite (old) in my 180 and Coral Sea Eco complete cichlid sand (new) in my 36 gallon shellie tank. I use Seachem rift lake salt in all my tanks at the recommended dosage and I use Kosher Salt/Epsom Salt at a 1 to 1 ration as well. So for every twenty gallons of water I add 1 tablespoon of Cichlid salt and 1 tablespoon of the Kosher/Epsom salt mix. Is this a good combination? Is it overkill? I don't use any buffers since my water is pretty hard and alkaline from the tap and I change 20% of my water once a week using Amquel (might switch to Prime) The reason I am asking is that I worry about Bloat (because of