• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Fusion Air Pumps?

Matt

Members
never heard of them, whisper has made a good quality pump forever. Is there a big price difference?

Jumbie

Members
I have never used brand before, in the past I have used whisper and I think they served there purpose well.

Jumbie

Members
You know for price of the cheap coast it wouldnt hurt to try it out. What size tank do you plan on using it on?

rich_one

Members
the 125 discus tank I am using... normally, I'm not one for air pumps. but, I figure with the warmer temps, why not add the extra air. I am still not sure if I am just going to use and air stone, or a sponge filter though... currently, I am only running an FX5, which is sufficient filtration by itself, but am looking to just add air with an air pump, or by a power filter for surface agitation... basically, increasing oxygen levels is the goal here.

-Rich

Jumbie

Members
That sounds like a plan if you want to go with that rout go with the sponge filters. The sponges do two things collecting small particles and provide larger bubbles while the air stones will only provide bubbles. When I had my discus I used a power head because I didn’t want any sponges/air stone to take away from the natural look I was trying to create. I had a tunze all the way in the back up in the left corner point towards the bottom right corner. The power head provides great water circulation which will help oxygenate your tank.

rich_one

Members