• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

A. Hongsloi II had babies unexpectedly

sundragon

Members
Total novice, my first brood, I'm not prepared :eek:

Brine shrimp was my first thought but it takes a few days to hatch and feed, I don't know how long these little guys have been here so I need to get something tomorrow - Any recommendations on preprepared foods?

Second thought, if these guys survive, I'm gonna need to find homes for them :eek:

Prince

The ONE who is The ONE
I'll some when they are ready. Good luck. I had success direct feeding the cloud Hikari first bites. Golden Pearls also works. I had the greatest success when I dropped a few into my shrimp tank after they got a little size.

mchambers

Former CCA member
Tomorrow, your best hope is Hikari First Bites, as Prince recommended. Longer term, Golden Pearls are great. Microworms would be good too.

rsretep

Members
Decapsulated brine shrimp may also b an option. Btw to hatch brine shrimp only takes 24 hours, I keep my hatchery at room temp. And can harvest in 24hours

Plenipotentiary-at-large
Confirmation

Hikari First Bites do actually work and are available even at Petsmart/PetCo.

Was told that the yolk of a hard-boild egg works well but it can/does cloud the water though a little bit goes a long way.

If you do manage to get some to decent size wold be happy to trade some Apisto juveniles of a different species.

sundragon

Members
Thank you all on the advice!

I'll look for the Hikari First Bites, and Golden Pearls as well tomorrow.

I'll also try to get some brine shrimp and hatch them - I'm new to doing that as well and I didn't want to change another day if I mess it up, haha. When the shrimp hatch, I'll alternate shrimp and the other food.

mchambers

Former CCA member
Golden pearls

Thank you all on the advice!