• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

6 Gallon Hex - Good for anything but a betta?

jonclark96

Past CCA President
I currently have an empty 6 gallon hex tank (my betta did not survive our last week long vacation). Any suggestions of something to put in it besides another betta? I was tempted to try shellies, but I don't have any experience with them and though that the tank was probably too small.

It is an Eclipse 6 gallon hex with the filter built into the hood.

jonclark96

Past CCA President
I was thinking about doing a planted tank, but was concerned that the hood has an incandescent fixture. Not sure if I can get more than a 5 watt bulb for it.

I'm a noob when it comes to live plants. I'm trying in my 75 gallon tank at the moment, with marginal success. The 6 gallon tank has sand substrate. Can you grow plants in sand, or would I need to change it to something else?

mchambers

Former CCA member
Sand

There are some low light plants that don't care about substrate, such as anubias, java fern, and java moss. Tie them to a rock or a piece of wood and they'll be fine.

DonkeyFish

Members
I was thinking about doing a planted tank, but was concerned that the hood has an incandescent fixture. Not sure if I can get more than a 5 watt bulb for it.

I'm a noob when it comes to live plants. I'm trying in my 75 gallon tank at the moment, with marginal success. The 6 gallon tank has sand substrate. Can you grow plants in sand, or would I need to change it to something else?