• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Considering a canister filter for my 55 gallon

TeamPisces

CCA Members
Hello,

I am trying to breathe some new life into my existing 55 gallon aquarium. I am currently running to AC 110's. I have interested lately in possibly trying a canister filter. I routinely hear Fluval and Eheim as brands that many people use. I have also heard of other like Filstar and Sun Sun. However, I have zero experience with any. I like Fluval for how many of them look, but I am concerned about this rubber ring breaking that owners have to replace.

Can you make some recommendations regarding your individual experiences with canisters?

FishEggs

How is a different filter going to give new life to your aquarium?
What are you looking to get out of using a canister?

Digital

Members
Two AC110 should be more than plenty for a 55g. just curiouswhat is going on that makes you want to buy an additional canister filter

TeamPisces

CCA Members
How is a different filter going to give new life to your aquarium?
What are you looking to get out of using a canister?
There is nothing in the current aquarium right now. I just wanted to see how a canister filter work. Interested in seeing how one canister would work as opposed to two filters on top. That is okay, right?

FishEggs

There is nothing in the current aquarium right now. I just wanted to see how a canister filter work. Interested in seeing how one canister would work as opposed to two filters on top. That is okay, right?
That is totally okay. Just wanted to get to the reasons for wanting to switch to a canister before making any recommendations. Of course to compare a canister that is rated for a 55gallon to the current 2 ac110 filters you have on it will be quite a difference in flow rate.
I would recommend staying away from the SunSun.

lkelly