1. Welcome Back! Please clear your cookies and cache. If you encounter issues please report it on this thread here --> https://www.capitalcichlids.org/forums/posts/245545/ Thanks
    Dismiss Notice

Can I properly filter a 20 gallon tank using a box filter and sponge filter

Discussion in 'Equipment & DIY Ideas' started by Prince, Mar 25, 2010.

  1. Prince

    Prince The ONE who is The ONE
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    The LAW
    Location:
    SOMD
  2. dogofwar

    dogofwar Global Moderators
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,924
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Potomac, MD
    Box + sponge = win
     
  3. Prince

    Prince The ONE who is The ONE
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    The LAW
    Location:
    SOMD
    Thanks I and cutting back. I am going to break down one of my 55's and start up two two 20 gallons and a ten maybe.
     
  4. dogofwar

    dogofwar Global Moderators
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,924
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Potomac, MD
    I like using boxes and sponges in combo - and change the fluff in the boxes a lot
     
  5. Tony

    Tony Alligator Snapping Turtle/Past Pres
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    7,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Civil Engineer/Construction Manager
    Location:
    Gaithersburg, MD
    Most of my tanks are filtered that way. :)
     
  6. mrkillie

    mrkillie Members

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    East Earl, PA
    I don't even use boxes-sponges only in most of my tanks.
     
  7. lonlangione

    lonlangione Members

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    I sell doors for a living, garage, storm, entry...
    Location:
    Dover, PA (York County)
    I only use box filters. I like the fact that they remove the particulate matter from the water. When I clean them I put a piece of the dirty fluff back in the filter. In most of them I use gravel or small pieces of lava rock. Some have ceramic filter media in them as well. I am old school.

    All of my 10's / 20 longs / 15's and 30's have box filter in them.

    Lonny
     
  8. dogofwar

    dogofwar Global Moderators
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,924
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Potomac, MD
    I keep some gravel in the bottoms of my boxes as well. Helps keep the from floating ;)
     
  9. Jumbie

    Jumbie Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Surgery Tech.
    Location:
    Silver Spring
    Home Page:
    I use sponge filters only on all my tanks 10g-30g except two which I have box filters using the same method to weight them down as Lonny. Works great.
     

Share This Page