• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

acara and geophagus ideas?

lilRia

Chairpersons
Staff member
I'm the one looking to put something in my 75g planted... there is still nothing in it but the two BN plecos and two pictus cats! after much indecision I'm thinking I'd like to do some colorful acaras and geophagus. any ideas? all though welcome as I'm totally new to cichlids!

mchambers

Former CCA member
I've always felt that you need a six foot tank to hold geophagus comfortably, so I've never kept them. Maybe others with experience will weigh in.

jonclark96

Past CCA President
You could keep red head Tapajos geos in a 75, but I would think that geos would disturb planted tanks when they sift the substrate for food. A good option may be some of the dwarf acara species like laetacara would be a good fit.

Freakgecko

Members
Completely agree with Jon. Geo Tapajós would work in a 75 (would be tight) but not the best fit for a planted tank. With that said, I keep a group of guianacara daycra in a planted tank (on eco complete) so it’s doable. That group has been there for at least a couple years, maybe 3. Spawn routinely, but have buried several crypts lol

Becca

Members
Yes, they’re great, but not easy to find.

Keyhole cichlids would work and are easy to find in LFSs.

They're not the hardest to find, either. Check in with Londontowne Tropicals to see if they'd special order them for you. I know JLW JLW has managed to get them for me in the past, too. They're also really great in a planted tank - they look and behave somewhat like Geos, but don't dig stuff up.

mchambers

Former CCA member