• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Ailment of Fish

zackcrack00

Members
I just went and bought four Panda Platies from Petco (I know, I know) a few days ago and a few hours after adding them to my 29 gallon, one of the females was hanging near the top, actually touching the water level, but no clamped fins or other abnormal behavior. She seems fine and she is eating except for this. After loosing about 25 fish in a massive Mbuna die-off, I have been very weary ever since. TIA!

P.S.- This isn't swim bladder or constipation, I've had PLENTY of experiences with both.

Localzoo

Board of Directors
Prob confused. Like "wow this is what awesome clean water feels like man ima check the top out maybe I can see where I am" lol. It's probably uncomfortable. Dim the lights let him settle make it as calm and confortable for him. give it a few more days then be worried wish I could help more.

Sent from my iPhone using MonsterAquariaNetwork app

I'd guess she is not going to make it. Nothing to do but keep her from getting attacked, and see if time helps. (and very clean water)

What caused your mbuna die off?

zackcrack00

Members
It was a bacterial infection cultivated in their stomach. I cured it by adding some kind of medicine Dave for Dave's Rare Aquarium Fish recommended, and it cleared up in a few short days. the fish would get bloated and constipated, then die. It took about two weeks to kill 90% of my Mbuna. I will keep the lights off, thank you Will.

Localzoo

Board of Directors
I've seen people soak food in Epsom salt or garlic to help with stomach issues and parasites.
And thawed peas for constipation. Maybe combining those. If anything in the future.