• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Newbie to cichlids

Hi all,

Another newbie here.
I have a 132 us gallon community tank.
3x small clown loaches
3x small cory
6x guppie
5x plattie
5x mollie
23x neon/glow light tetras
3x small kissing gourami (I know these grow VERY big, they will be rehoused)
Albino Bristol nose
Sucking loach
2x small electric Blue
2x small parrot cichlids

I'm looking to eventually turn this into a cichlid tank. I want to slowly replace the community fish but how and what with?

All replies will be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

jonclark96

Past CCA President
I would start by trying to figure out what fish I want to keep and do some research about them. You have started with both Africans (I am assuming that your electric blue is some type of mbuna) and New World (parrot is a new world hybrid). Usually, Africans and New Worlds won't make it long term in the same tank. They require different water chemistry to prosper. Once you have made up your mind, come back and ask some more specific questions.

Also, try to find a home for those community fish. Most of them will end up as snacks for cichlids.

dogofwar

CCA Members
Are you local?

Members can sell all kinds of fish (not just cichlids) in our monthly auctions...

Matt

Hi Jon and thanks for the reply
Since searching on the net I have found that the parrots are in fact Rainbow cichlids.
I was given these late last night as the previous owner was going away on business. He said they were parrots.
Sorry for the confusion.
I'd really like to fill tank with cichlids which are compatible with rainbows and electric blue rams.

verbal

CCA Members
You have started with both Africans (I am assuming that your electric blue is some type of mbuna) and New World (parrot is a new world hybrid).