• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Any suggestions??? Tank Talk

BubbaJay

Members
Thought I would post my Cichlid tank and see what everyone thought. I am open for suggestions since I am fairly new to Cichlids. Love the fish though!!! Just a little info on the tank. It's a 110 Gallon Tall (60x23x18) with a corner overflow and 55 gallon sump. I am running a 1000 GPH lift pump with an inline UV sterilizer (35 watt) and a 1300GPH circulation pump. Lighting is done by a homemade Florescent hood running 2 low watt 48" bulbs (for now, till I can get some HO 110w) and a Icecap 660 Ballast. I have 1 Red Bellied Piranha, 1 Red Bellied Pacu, 3 Venustus, 1 Demasoni, 1 unknown as of yet and two crayfish. What do you guys think??? Maybe compatibility issues?? I know the piranha may cause issues later down the road, but for now he does just fine... And the crayfish, although true fish hunters, (lost my fair share of smaller fish to them) don't even bother with these bigger guys... Tank, Lighting, Flow, Decor suggestions are welcome!!! Thanks!!!!

013112115048.jpg

dogofwar

CCA Members
The tank looks good. I'm a little worried about the stocking, though.

The pirahna and pacu aren't gonna work out (one will tear chunks out of the other fish...the other will get giant).

The venustus are predatory and will eat the crayfish and probably demasoni.

The demasoni prefer to be in groups.

Matt

BubbaJay

Members