• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

Help! good or bad decision?

sreid76

Members
Hey, I'm new to cichlids and fishkeeping in general. Tonight, walking home in the rain I picked up a few earth worms on the sidewalk that had been flooded out of the ground and threw them in my south american tank. They were instantly gobbled up by my jack dempsey and my salvini. Was this okay to do or a big no no? I figured that this would be what they'd eat in the wild if a worm fell in the river.

Thanks,

Stan

TMSB805

Members
I do it sometimes as well. Just have to be careful about pesticides. If its your lawn and you know you haven't treated it then it's ok. Someone else's...I'd pass just to be safe.

jonclark96

Past CCA President
Solid advice from Zach in my opinion. There are some that will say that "wild" earthworms are the devil, but I have never had any problems with them.

verbal

CCA Members
Solid advice from Zach in my opinion. There are some that will say that "wild" earthworms are the devil, but I have never had any problems with them.

I think that tends to be possible nutritional imbalance with some primarily herbivorous African cichlids. I haven't seen much on issues with worms and new world cichlids.

dogofwar

CCA Members
Better to culture them yourself but I've never had problems with wild worms, either.

Pesticides kill worms...so if worms are alive and healthy, then they must not be covered in pesticides. Worth a rinse, though. There's a guy who posts on the possibility of nematodes in wild worms. My take on these is that no one has been able to point to either pesticides or nematodes from earthworms killing or harming their fish. And it's not as if feeding fish worms is new. Tubifex worms, though, are no bueno.