• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

DIY Stand build (pic heavy)

Aqua410

Members
I just wanted to do a write up to help anyone who needs a strong and high quality tank stand. This stand is vastly more sturdy costs a fraction of the store bought stands. I used the KingofDIY's basic instructions for framing the stand and wrapped it in a way that's simple and tasteful. I am by no means an expert carpenter and I pulled this off with very basic hand tools and the end result is excellent. All the supplies for this cost around $100 but I did already have most of the basic tools.

You will need the following tools and supplies:
2x4's - The amount you need will vary depending on tank size of course
Electric Drill
Circular saw
Miter saw or even a $5 miter box from home depot which I used.
A few wood clamps
A box of 1 1/2" self tapping screws
1d trim nails (or any small little nails)
Hammer
Measuring tape
Wood filler
Sand paper (220 grit and 600 grit should do)

First things first watch this video. I take no credit for this design and if I get a chance to thank him at BFD I definitely will. The frame he shows you how to build is the basis for my build so follow along here closely. I did make a few small changes to suit my needs.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jN4Y9AYuwcQ&list=PLcWeEm9w62mbxY1lefvU5kgYiWRAGVVkU

Measure twice and make your cuts. I would strongly recommend not making the frame the exact size you need. In other words give yourself a little extra all the way around because having an extra quarter inch here and there will insure you dont have to start over if your measurements are a bit off.

I was building for a 55 gallon so I went 49" long and 13.5 inches wide. After finishing the frame it should look like this: