• You liked BFD7 now you should join this forum and of course become a club member to see what CCA is all about.
  • Thank you to everyone who registered and showed up for the BIG Fish Deal #7.

JD & Convicts nipping eatchother

I have a 75g with 3 JD, 3 covicts, 2 EB Acara, 2 red hump geo, and 3 loaches. all between 2" and 3" inches

I noticed one JD bosses the other 2 around and nips a bit. And same with the convicts. But they only do so to their own kind.

The less aggressive acara and goe's don't get bothered and none of the cichlids even seem to register that thr loaches exist.

Some of the ones lower in thr pecking order have little tears in their fins. Nothing realy bad but enouph to notice right away.

I am new to judging their behavior and have no experience. But I thought I would post this to see if anyone could give me some knowledge about behavior and what I should watch out for.

Other than that everything in the tank seems good. I feel like all the fish are generally happy. I do not have a quarantine tank. But I realy want to add more plants to distract them from eachother. I started feeding them all pellets now since they have gotten bigger.

I know it takes time to learn all this stuff so I tend to ask many questions. Don't let my newbie-ness bore you.

Thank you everyone !

20160114_184726.jpg

Yeah I had a feeling that would be the case. I think when they are grown I will find new homes for the jd and convicts and try and keep the less aggressive dudes. Or maby start fresh again. With new stock. I haven't kept any fish long enouph to see them grown fully. Only the gurami in my little 10g

CSnyder00

Bearded Wonder
I agree. It would take a lot of space to keep those guys together long term. ESPECIALLY if you keep both sexes. Pick your favorite and keep them.

Would i have enouph room to keep the 2 acara and the 2 geo? I don't know the sex of thr acara they looks the same but the geo are one of each sex.